Hobble Creek Half Marathon

On Saturday August 21st, Diz, Me and my Mom ran the
Hobble Creek Half Marathon.
If you are a runner then you understand the nerves that accompany you on race morning, and I always get runner guts (or bubble guts as I also like to call them, lol). I’m not quite sure why I was so nervous, I mean, I’ve ran the race twice before and have been running the course quite frequently this summer to prep for the marathon, but still… I was nervous.
I suppose I was a little anxious about my 2 goals I had set… I wanted to meet or beat my previous PR (Moab Canyonlands Half, time 1:58) and beat my hubby (lol…). Considering I never thought I’d be able to run a sub-2 half-marathon, I was pretty unsure if I’d be able to come in under 2 hours again. And as far as beating my husband, well, with men, you just never know. They can go without training and still do extremely well. So he was a wild card to say the least.
Well, we (and my unresolved bubble guts) went up to the 7:00 pace marker, and NO, No, no, I was not planning on running a 7:00 pace, we just hate fighting our way through the crowds and when you start up at beginning of the pack it’s a lot easier to navigate that first mile. We all high-fived and told each other ‘Good Luck’. My Mom and I took off at the sound of the gun, and I’m slightly embarrassed to say I never glanced back to see where Diz was. (bad wifey, I know…) We kept at a pretty good pace, but to be honest I didn’t want to look at my Garmin because I can get pretty wrapped up in the time, start to stress about keeping a certain pace, etc. Around mile 5, my bubble guts started to make a come back and I mentioned to my Mom that I wanted (had to) stop at the bathroom around mile 6. She then told me, “Good, because you’re pushing me”. WHAT?! I was pushing HER? I was shocked. Usually my Mom is pushing me and urging me to run harder. So after my super fast bathroom break, I take off again. My mom offered to wait for me, but I couldn’t do that to her, I told her I’d try to catch up to her.
Unfortunately I never could quite catch her. I spotted her a few times, not all that far in front of me, but still, just couldn’t get close enough to her. At this point I checked my Garmin and I knew I was running a great pace, but tried not to psych myself out. I just kept going, running, pushing myself. I was so happy when I got to mile 12, and knew that I only had 1 mile to go! I saw Sandy from work right at the mile marker 12 and it was just what I needed to keep going. She was cheering for me and high fived me! After that uplifting sight, I looked down at my Garmin and saw that I was at 1:40… I knew I had the possibility of coming in at a great time…
One of the good things about this course is that the crowd lines up for the last quarter mile or so, so it’s a really good push to keep going and really run hard at that last little bit. The course wraps around from the road onto the grass, which I HATE… how the hell do you sprint on grass?! I mean, it’s possible, but it’s fetching hard, especially when your legs are mush! I sprinted once I got on the grass and spotted the finish line… and
I finished in
1 hour 49 minutes 8 seconds!!!
that’s 9 minutes (9 MINUTES!) off of my previous PR!
I’m so glad this race went so well.
My Mom came in at 1:48 (4th in her age group) and Diz came in at 2:02, which is damn good for not training! I’m so proud of my Mom and Diz!
this makes me excited for Top of Utah Marathon… 4 more weeks!
2 thoughts on “Hobble Creek Half Marathon

  1. mshort says:

    Congratulations on beating your old time by nearly ten minutes! What an achievement! I’m so proud of you! I think it’s funny that it was you pushing your mom instead of the old other way around… just shows how much you have improved. That’s so awesome! I’m sure you’ll be great at the Top of Utah Marathon! =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

