20 miler (take 2)

Had a much smaller group this morning…
I think (actually, I know) that the bad weather scared off a few runners. ๐Ÿ˜‰
ย Rachelle, Poshie, Momma & Me
But to be honest, it really wasn’t that cold. Most of the snow had melted off the roads. And once we got out of the canyon the roads were pretty much dry.
I’m not super pleased with my time. 20.3 miles in 3:12, which is a 9:27 pace. And I know (I know!) that it’s not bad… but I just had a real tough time from mile 12-16, due to stomach issues. My first 10 miles went really well, mostly high 8:00 and low 9:00 min splits. Mile 12-16 times were high 9/10min avgs. and even after I went to the bathroom at the gas station I was just kinda pissed about how much I had slowed down, and it messed with my head and I continued running at a slower pace. I was able to pick up the pace a bit for my last mile. But I finished the run in a bad mood. I just really wanted a sub 3:00 20 miler under my belt before the marathon. and I know (trust me, I know!) that long runs are about putting the miles in, and not about speed, and I shouldn’t be upset… but I am (or I was…).
Speaking of stomach issues… anyone ever use Immodium for long runs/races?
Does it work? Does it cause moreย ‘issues’ afterwards?
I’m so frustrated with my stomach! Ugh! I don’t want to have any issues at my marathons. I’d really like to qualify for Boston (before they lower the times! ha!) and I can NOT afford unnecessary portapotty stops. I just want to RUN!
After I got home and had some recovery time, I went with my Momma & Daddy to the Hobble Creek Boutique in Mapleton.
Nothing better than some retail therapy to cheer me up!
Found these cute vintage rose wrapsย that I just had to have. They tie on instead of too-tight headbands or silly clips. Should be super cute with my work scrubs and my everyday clothes. I told my Momma that I wanted to go to church tomorrow so I could show off my cute headband. lol. I’m shallow and vain like that… (don’t judge)
super cute, huh?!
Have a fabulous weekend… and hook me up with some suggestions for stomach control on long runs/races. ๐Ÿ™‚
13 thoughts on “20 miler (take 2)

  1. Julia says:

    ohhhhh!! I love the headbands. too cute. dang. i want some. girl. I know it is so tough to not stress about a run that you just really wanted to do better on but I am amazed by you and I think you are more ready than you even know for your marathon. seriously. just trust your training, believe in yourself and have confidence in your progress! you rock!! and inspire me!!sad I missed out on the 20 miler ๐Ÿ™‚ some other time i guess!

    Like

  2. kay.tee. says:

    Don’t let it get you down, that is an amazing time for that distance! You’ll be able to race much faster than your training, especially if you’re taking the time to train right. What are you eating the day before you run? Maybe you are sensitive to dairy or gluten or something. Maybe even just too much fiber the day before?

    Like

  3. Mrs. JM says:

    oh, yesterdays morning weather was a major bummer. at least today it’s SUNNY! i think your pace is zippy but i get the disappointment, i do it to myself too often. anyway, i take an immodium before every run 10 miles or longer. it works WONDERS. i do not have any trouble afterward. before races, i usually try to “clean out” with cup of chinese dieters tea in the late afternoon/early evening before the race. it helps a ton. i had a lot of stomach trouble before so i’ve done my fair share of trial and error techniques. tea the day before and one immodium an hour before the actual run. you’ll be glad you tried it! good luck.

    Like

  4. Rachelle Wardle says:

    I still cannot believe we ran through that but it actually turned out okay. I would much rather run in the cold than the heat I have decided.I am so sorry about your stomach issues and wish I had a suggestion. I know how hard it can be to run through that and really hope you can figure something out before the marathon.Love the headbands. I need to get me some of those to cover up my purple, greasy, frizzy hair! Perfect solution.

    Like

  5. [Red Sox] Wife says:

    I LOVE those headbands!!And I am so sad I have never actually done a 20 miler before… 13.1 miles is my cap! maybe if i work really hard this summer….you guys ROCK! way to 20 mile it up TWO times!!! you are AMAZING.

    Like

  6. Muncher Cruncher says:

    Oh my GOSH. I would have seen that snow and driven the twenty miles back home and called it good. You are a crazy person, and I am a wuss. I wouldn’t have even attempted that weakther…It would have been straight to the treadmill for me. I know how to make those headbands! They are like the EASIEST thing ever. We can have a crafty party and I’ll teach you!! Miss your face! xoxoxo

    Like

  7. SeeAliEatSeeAliRun says:

    They didn’t already lower the times for Boston?? I used to have really bad stomach issues and was able to find that it was what I was eating 24 hours before my long runs that caused problems. I drink a TON of water the day before now and I don’t eat anything with cream, too much cheese, or a lot of vegetables. And I go easy the morning of the run and eat a breakfast I usually eat during the week or have eaten before runs (yogurt or some bread and a banana)

    Like

  8. Rachel says:

    HA HA HA I LOVED THAT I SAW YOU AT THE RUNNING STORE AND I AM GLAD THAT I GOT TO SAY HI! ๐Ÿ™‚ WAY TO GO ON ALL YOUR RUNNING YOUR A ROCKSTAR! YOU TOTALLY MOTIVATED ME TO KEEP A BETTER RUNNING BLOG!THANKS HEY I DIDN’T EVEN ASK YOU WHAT SHOES YOU ENDED UP BUYING!

    Like

  9. Jen says:

    You are hardcore woman! That’s quite the weather to do your 20 miler in! Don’t worry too much about the stomach issues unless it’s a constant problem. And I’ve tried Immodium and it did nothing for me. Body glide EVERYWHERE just in case! I know, TMI. The peppermint/ginger pills did the trick for me, but everyone’s so different. Just know that you are not alone in this embarrassing gross problem. It was so great seeing you! I wish I lived closer!

    Like

  10. Hungry Gazelle says:

    I totally have major stomach issues too and I feel your pain. The only thing that has kinda worked for me is eating relatively light for the few days before a long run and then eating a banana and clif bar before the run. My stomach totally has a mind of it’s own though, so this only works 50% of the time. If you figure something out, let me know!(http://hungrygazelle.com)

    Like

Leave a Reply

