Ogden: Marathon Eve

Friday included lots and lots of carb-loading…
After work, Mom and I and Britt headed back into Springville to pick up Josh & Katie. After we got all our luggage squared away… You’d think we were going away for 2 weeks, not just the weekend. 🙂
Hit up Paradise Bakery in American Fork and had a sandwich and a cookie (or two).
Carbs are carbs, right?
me, Britt, and Momma
 Katie and Joshie
Josh busted out his sunshine glasses… Check these sweet shades out!
Orange frames with yellow lenses… it’s always sunny with these on! Ha!
 (I look like a bug… but a happy, sunshine-y bug!)
Got to our hotel, set up the coffee maker (we’re (my mom and I) an odd bunch and have to have our coffee), and then headed down to the expo.
Got our bibs, free swag, race shirt, and walked around for a bit.
 where’s the hill?? hmm… right there!
love that our bibs have our names on them!
go PAM-E-LA!!!
Check out my Mom’s AWESOME shirt.
(my Mom is totally BAD-ASS!)
And we met Bart Yasso! How cool is that?!
Headed back to the hotel, carb loaded a little more, then decided it was time for dinner. Hit up an Italian place just a few blocks from our hotel. Jen and Heather met up with us. Told us it would be an hour, after waiting 20 minutes, we decided to just get take out. Overpaid for dry, plain pasta, but the rolls (carbs! Carbs! Carbs!) were amazing.
Britt, Katie, Momma, Me, Jen, & Heather
Got all of our stuff set out for the morning and hit the sack. Britt was a little nervous and didn’t want to go to sleep, because the sooner she went to bed, the sooner she would wake up and it would be time to run the marathon! LOL. Loved having her there! She probably saw a little too much of the real me… and my Mom. We warned her, though. Ha!
I will finish writing about the marathon tomorrow. It’s a little overwhelming! LOL! There is a lot of stuff I want to write about, little quotes, little stories, pictures, memories… I’ve written a lot of them down, but I know it’s gonna take forever to write up in a post… so bear with me! I’ll get it done in the next day or two.
For now… I finished in 4:04:09, (17 seconds slower than my PR). I have no (NO! none!) desire for Boston… I just want a sub 4:00. And oddly enough, I’m looking forward to Utah Valley.
To be continued…
(if you’re dying for some Marathon Recaps, check out Jen’s Recap and Rachelle’s Recap #1, #2, and #3)

12 thoughts on “Ogden: Marathon Eve

  1. Julia says:

    the pictures really are awesome! so cute! I love the one of your mom with the coffee maker…that is awesome!excited to hear the rest…well the rest “blog” style 🙂

    Like

  2. Jen says:

    I love all your pictures! We had so much fun meeting with you guys! I feel bad your pasta sucked! My sandwich was so good! You are so much fun to be around and are such a rock star in my book! I can’t wait to hear how the rest went for you. And the concert! You are so lucky!

    Like

  3. Rachelle Wardle says:

    Love all of the pictures and I feel so sad I missed out on all the fun at the expo. I will not be missing out on anything for UV.I can’t wait to hear your stories from the marathon. It truly was such a crazy experience for me and I can’t wait to hear your side of everything.Love ya girl!!

    Like

  4. Caitlin says:

    Congrats on your marathon!! I just found your blog (the shout outs from Holly and the aforementioned ginormous breadsticks sent me over…hehe) and I have to tell you how freaking CUTE your header is!! Wow, you two do not strike me as the MySpace meet-up couple, you’re both much too hot…lol. Really though, that’s such a great story!Thanks for the picto-tour part one of your marathon and can’t wait for part two. That shirt your mom was sporting is priceless and good luck at breaking that 4 hour mark, it’s totally yours! :)Keep on blogging!

    Like

  5. Caitlin says:

    omg!!! i committed a heinous mistake, i’m so embarrassed! in my last comment i meant to write that i was sent your way from Hungry Runner Girl!! ack, i had just finished tying an email to my friend, holly, before commenting and had a total brain fart! i’m sorry to u and to hungry runner too. :/

    Like

  6. michael. mindy. dane. says:

    i think it is sa-weet that you and your mom run together. i would love to do that! hey i know you love some yogurtland, so you should check out our giveaway :)http://howetocook.blogspot.com/2011/05/giveaway.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

