three…

three more sleeps until Utah Valley Marathon! Yikes! I feel like it kind of snuck up on me! :/
where have the last three weeks gone?!
it’s taper week… and I’m feeling the jitters! excited to run! but nervous as hell too! I feel like the pain is still a little fresh from Ogden. Yet, I’m still looking forward to running the marathon. Crazy talk, right?
three things I’m doing DIFFERENTLY:
1. more energy gels
I was playing around the CLIF pace site and according to them I should be taking a total of 7 gels, one at mile 4, 8, 11, 15, 18, 22, 25. At Ogden I took gels at 5, 11, 14.5, 18, and 23. I’m thinking this may be the reason why I start to get so tired/muscle fatigued by mile 20, and for the rest of the race. I’m just hoping I can stomach them all & fit all of them in my spi-belt pouch.
Janae and her sis, Rachelle, swear by this supplement. It is supposed “significantly delay muscle fatigue to help you squeeze out the last growth stimulating reps.” (from bodybuilding.com) Just exchange “last growth stimulating reps” to the last 6 miles of a marathon. 😉
I tried it out on my 8-miler on saturday just to make sure it didn’t wreck my gut. (and it didn’t) Not sure I felt the effects, but an 8-miler doesn’t fatigue my quads like a marathon does. (duh). One of the side effects is facial numbness. Kinda weird, right? Definitely felt *something*, like my skin was tight and maybe a little tingly. Nothing I can’t deal with. Really hoping this works!!!
3. running for me
I’m sure you’re thinking “Don’t you always run for yourself?!”
Yes… But this time. I’m not stressing about time, pace, or splits. I’m just running.  Not worried about qualifying, not worried about a certain finishing time. If I can finish under 4:00, I’ll be ecstatic, but I won’t be crushed if I don’t. I am considering putting tape over my Garmin so I won’t be tempted to look every 25 seconds to watch my time and pace, but still be able to check a few times throughout the race.
My main goal— come across the finish line with a smile on my face. 🙂
hobble creek 1/2 (2010) SMILING! 🙂
three things I’m keeping the SAME:
1. kick ass playlist
good music makes running so much more fun.
here’s my top 10 songs that I could play on repeat for the whole race and not be annoyed at all.
okay so there are 11… I have lots of favs.
2. eating my usual foods
before Ogden I stayed away from ALL fiber. this time around I will be eating a *little* more fiber. this may be TMI-(don’t be a hater-true runners don’t care)-but I GOTTA GO before a race. you know what I mean. Fiber obviously helps that. Will I eat a spinach salad for dinner?! Hell no. But will I have a normal size serving of veggies with dinner. Yes. Also will eat a few extra servings of bread/bagels. 🙂
3. friends running me in…
I somehow convinced Stacey to run me in again, even after my emotional diva display at Ogden. I’m not quite sure where she’s going to jump in, but probably the last 3-5 miles. 🙂 Such a huge help to have someone there to push me on those last few, hardest miles.
me and Stacey (about 2 years ago) we used to match scrubbies on Botox Day. lol. crazy blondes!
this just in…
Janae is going to run the last THREE miles in with me!!!
Probably the only time I’ll be able to run with her (when I can keep up) since she’s FINALLY on the mend from her bilateral femur stress fractures. Pretty soon she’ll be busting out 7min miles and leaving me in the dust. 😉
so I get TWO friends to push me to the finish line. I am the luckiest girl in the world! I’ll be so distracted by these 2 awesome girls I won’t even remember I’m running a marathon. (at least, in my head that’s how I envision it going…)
three questions for you…
1. What are some of your favorite race songs? what songs should I download?
2. what is your fav pre-run carb-loading food? (me? bagels!)
3. have you ever had a friend/family member run you to the finish line? did it help?
11 thoughts on “three…

  1. The Hungry Runner Girl says:

    I LOVE THAT YOU ARE RUNNING FOR YOU!!! You are going to love the beta and your playlist is AMAZING!! Yes for a lil more fiber:) I really am SO SO excited to run with you and I promise I won’t say the annoying things like….you are so close, otherwise I think you might slap me. LOVE you and can’t wait to see you (can you do Yogurtland @ 5 on Friday?)

    Like

  2. Julia says:

    love your playlist!!! and so excited about you running UV. That race photo is gorgeous with your huge smile…LOVE IT! Your goal of running for you is inspiring…I hope I can keep that in mind as well 🙂 I can’t wait to see you!!!So awesome that Janae is going to run with you!!!! eeeek! that will totally motivate you and push you to the finish! I am hoping my dad can maybe do a mile…except I would maybe cry the entire mile from being so happy he is here. Otherwise my friend Magin is going to run the last 6 with me. She came back for me at the 10k last week and she was just amazing. So many good things in this post! I could go on and on. Ultimately I am just so excited for you! Love you girl!

    Like

  3. Jen says:

    You’ve got your head on right, girl and it’s gonna be a great marathon! I’m glad you have a couple people to run you in. That alone will be a big boost that will get you to the end nice and strong. I can’t wait to see you! You are a great inspiration to me!

    Like

  4. Stefanie D. says:

    I love this!!! You are so lucky to have so many AWESOME people there to support you! SO excited Janae is running with you!!And your songs…are my songs. LOVE IT. Good luck if I don’t see you tomorrow at the fro-yo date!

    Like

  5. Jess's Journey to the Land Of Skinny says:

    This is my 1st time commmenting but I have alot of comments saved since I have been checking your blog out for awhile now and have been too lazy to comment so here we go.1-you are going to do awesome on your marathon. You are definitely in a great place mentally! Have fun and run!2- If your not opposed to a little old school music may I suggest ‘You give love a bad name by Bon Jovi’ ‘Posion by Alice Cooper’ and for the teenager inside of you ‘body language by Jesse McCartney’ Show me the money by Pete Pablo. Those are just a few off the top of my head. I have lost my ipod so I am super sad about that and need to get another since I too am running the St. George Marathon!3-I also love to read and read more then my fair share of romance novels and could probably give you a few suggestions and in turn I am sure you have some favs you could share.4-Fav carbo loading food- rolls/breadsticks5-I have never had a family/friend run me in on a race but I should definitely try that!

    Like

  6. Rochelle says:

    You are so awesome and I can only dream to be excited for a marathon! Teach me! I’m freaking out about the half…ahhh! And I hope you can come to yogurtland..I’ll be there!And so happy that you have two people running with you! Can they just run those last 6 for you? Cause that would be the most helpful right? LOL You are amazing!!!!

    Like

  7. Kellie Knapp says:

    So I don’t run unless there is bear chasing me or a sale of some sort.BUT I do listen to music while I work out and my new fav jams are Rhianna “Hard” and Dev “Bass down low” and Miranda Lambert ” only prettier” SMASH THAT MARATHON SMASHLEY….

    Like

  8. Nikki says:

    So Yes, I have been following your blog (okay fine…stalking your blog) for a little while. Funny thing…I saw a picture of Josh on here and recognized him. He used to play on our city league volleyball team. Small world! Anyway, I am new to running and it has been so helpful and inspiring for me to read about your running and race experiences. Thank you for sharing! I even decided to jump into blog land like all of you fun runners! What can I say, You all inspire me! My new blog is theworthofmysole.blogspot.com. Just in case!!! :)I am running my first half marathon on Saturday! (Utah Valley) and I am hoping my kids will run me in. Good luck to you! I know you will do great!!!

    Like

  9. Stephanie says:

    So I have tried the Beta Alanine and I didn’t notice a difference, I felt the tingle but that’s about it. SportLegs is AWESOME!!! I notice a huge difference with it, it has lactate in it which helps your body not produce too much. I feel amazing when I take it. You can buy a sample at 26.2 for like $2. Seth, at 26.2, told me to take both the Salt Stick and SportLegs and that’s what I am going to do. You are going to do awesome and you are so lucky to have friends to run you in 🙂 Good luck!!!

    Like

  10. Rachelle Wardle says:

    Love this post!! I am starting to feel so excited for the marathon I can hardly contain myself. I love the things that you are doing different and the things you are doing the same.So awesome that Janae is going to run with you! My sister is going to run the last 4 miles with me and I cannot wait until I see her face!Also I totally agree about the fiber thing. I gotta have my fiber if I want to not have a potty stop.Let me know if you want to ride up together sat morning. You could drive if your worried about having a car afterwards because I could ride home with my family. Let me know. Love ya girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

