You can fly, you can fly, you can fly…

Since I started really getting into running and racing, I’ve always wanted to do a Disney race. I was initially looking at the Disney Princess Half, but somehow overlooked the fact that it was in DisneyWorld NOT at DisneyLand. Travel and cost are just a tad bit more to get to Florida than to get to Cali. So I started looking at DisneyLAND races and found out they are having the inaugural Tinkerbell Half Marathon on January 29, 2012. I immediately started hounding my Mom to convince her we NEEDED to sign up for this race.
Some of my arguments included:
-We haven’t been to Disneyland as a family since December 2007.
-It would keep us training through the winter (including the holidays)
Though it’s not like we’d stop running… (duh)
-You run through Disneyland park and Anaheim on your way to the finish line to earn your “wings”.



the finisher medal
-there will be Disney Entertainment on the course, which means lots of Disney characters along the course for photo-ops.
 –
It’s a women’s focused half marathon- which means it’s all about us girls.
Men can run, but are ineligible for any awards. Take THAT suckers! 😉
and as you can guess…
I convinced her… AND the rest of my family.
The plan right now is for us all to go out to Disneyland and my Mom and I are gonna run the race.
My parents bought me my race registration fee for an early birthday present!
I’m trying to convince as many of my old Cali friends to sign up for the race and meet us down at Disneyland.
So… here’s the link to sign up for the race. FYI the race is 78% full. *hint, hint-SIGN up NOW!*
AND… just in case some of my Cali friends are reading… here’s a link to a training schedule for a first time half-marathoner!

and in honor of signing up for the TINKERBELL Half Marathon, I changed my blog header to a Peter Pan theme… see the pirate map, clock tower and the infamous ‘second star to the right and straight on til morning’. (for any digi-scrapper’s out there, I used Britt-ish Designs Never Grow Up kit).
Wanna sign up for the Tinkerbell Half Marathon with me? What’s one race you’ve always wanted to run?
17 thoughts on “You can fly, you can fly, you can fly…

  1. kara t. says:

    I ALMOST signed up for this! My sister lives in LA and I thought it looked like fun but things haven’t really panned out like I’d like them to. They actually added this race because the one Labor day weekend sold out so quickly. Love themed races.I want to run the NYC marathon more than I want to do just about anything else. Something in Europe would be amazing too.

    Like

  2. Ann says:

    Oh my gosh, I want to do it SO BAD!!! I just don’t know if it’s in the cards. Yes, the training and experience would be wonderful but MN to Cali is SO spendy!!! I wish, I wish, I wissssshhhhh. I’m so jealous of you ALREADY!!!

    Like

  3. Tahsha says:

    That’s really cool. I’m so excited for you! That day is my anniversary….would be 7 years. Maybe I’ll start training and run with you, just so I have something to do that day………haha. You are awesome.

    Like

  4. Miss Erosion says:

    Oh man! I’d love love LOVE that!:) The marathon alone is nerve racking… plus being up at the start without anyone I know makes me ever more nervous. We can push each other along to get under 4!! Are you planning on running with one of the pacers?

    Like

  5. Miss Erosion says:

    what happened with your pacer experience? I have never ran with a pacer before… I live in Price! If I am ever up North when you all have a blogger get together I will most def. come! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

