countdown is on…

I can’t believe St. George Marathon is a week away.
ask me how much I’ve been running…
not much. NOT much at all.
and surprisingly – I’m okay with that.
I ran for 15 minutes on Tuesday,
10 minutes on Wednesday,
and a GLORIOUS 29 minutes today.
I’ve been a spin class maniac.
I’ve gone to 7 classes this week.
and I’ve been doing some weight lifting too.
I may not be running like I’m training for a marathon,
but I sure as hell have been trying to keep my cardio up.
I’ve seen my PT, Kirk Jorgenson, 3 times this week.
Remember last week, when I said ASTYM “hurt so good“.
I admit, I thought everyone who complained about how bad it hurt were just being babies.
I take it back, and I apologize for thinking you were a baby.
Monday morning, Kirk beat the shit out of my achilles.
He found a “click” in my achilles.
Using these torture tools:
names: evaluator, localizer, isolator
He “ironed out” my “click” with the isolator tool. (I hate that bitch)
I may have made it worse by admitting that I was a UTAH fan.
(FYI- he is one of the official physical therapists for BYU)
Ya know the saying, “that’s gonna leave a mark”?
even though it hurts, it is definitely helping.
My achilles is not tight or as painful.
Yesterday’s treatment seemed relatively easy, and when I asked Kirk why he wasn’t digging as hard, he said he was going as deep as he did (maybe even more than)Β on Monday! but since the inflammation is decreasing, my pain level is lower. YEAH!
I am looking forward to, terrified of, and nervous for St. George.
I have absolutely no expectations for the race.
whatever happens, happens. c’est la vie.
p.s. my bib number is 5592
11 thoughts on “countdown is on…

  1. Stephanie says:

    You will do awesome! I am so glad you are getting better and that you have been smart and let your body heal πŸ™‚ Good luck, I am so jealous. Even though I did TOU I so wish I were doing St. George too!

    Like

  2. Carrie says:

    Those “torture tools” could probably be compared to some other dirty tools if you know what I mean. (inappropriate?) I hope you get feeling better for the race, and that everything goes smoothly!

    Like

  3. Julia says:

    ahhhh. i just had a moment of ptsd panic when i saw those tools. haha. it really is soooo helpful. just brutal when you are in pain. glad to hear it is feeling better! feels crazy that st george is almost here! looking forward to seeing you!

    Like

  4. Jen says:

    I think you’re getting better if it doesn’t hurt as much! And keeping up your cardio will totally help even if it isn’t running! You’re gonna do great! I can’t wait to hear all about it! And I’ll be following you- thanks for giving us your bib number!

    Like

  5. Stefanie D. says:

    Whoa. That is insane. I am so glad that you are feeling better, and that you have the OK to run st. george! And that middle tool…looks like something that starts with Dil, and ends in do. Just sayin’.

    Like

  6. Amylee says:

    I have no doubt that you will do awesome. Those torture tools work miracles! I’m telling you! Just enjoy the race and go mile by mile- before you know it, you will be at the finish. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

