some new goals…

So y’all know I’ve been doing CrossFit (at Viking CrossFit) for the last 2 weeks.
and … I’m pretty sure I’m in LOVE with it.
I’ve learned a lot about what I’m capable of, even when I think I can’t do something.
The trainers are GREAT.
Everyone is super encouraging and helpful.
On Friday’s workout we did 400m runs and 30 double-unders (4 rounds).
I went in thinking I had this workout because of the running.
pfft… I can run. I CAN RUN.
however… I can NOT jump rope.
and I still have the bruises to prove it.
I mean, really… who gets bruised from jumping rope?!
yup… ME.
I had welts across my arms, ass and ankles…
really, the pictures don’t do it justice…
apparently I favor the right side. it’s still bruised over my elbow.
be glad I didn’t photograph the welts on my ass.
anyways…
I have some new goals for the month…
1. quit drinking soda.
One of the owners/trainers at Viking CrossFit said one of the easiest ways to kick start weight loss
is to quit drinking soda… even if it’s diet.
Something about our bodies reacting to the “diet” like it was real sugar- hence… weight gain.
soo… no more Diet Coke or Diet Dr Pepper.
8 days sober… 😉
after thinking about it… I’m beginning to wonder if it’s all sugar-substitute type drinks… because if that’s the case… I’m screwed. I drink Crystal Light by the gallon and use Equal in my coffee every morning.
and I’m pretty sure I know that answer… but I’m afraid to ask Jason about it, for fear that he’ll tell me I’ll have to drink PLAIN water. ugh. boring.
2. Hit the CrossFit gym 4-5 times a week.
Since I’m not really in *training* right now for any races I can afford to spend the extra time doing my CrossFit workouts. I went 5 days last week and I loved it. It almost helps with the soreness to just keep going back because it forces you to work out the kinks.
3. Keep running while doing CrossFit
not gonna lie… it’s tough.
I’m tired. But I want to get stronger and still be a strong (i.e. my level of strong) runner.
this week, my Dr is out of the office, so I’m taking advantage and running in the morns for longer than normal.
this morn I thought I was gonna die. Felt like 6,785 degrees in the gym. I was DRIPPING in sweat. ugh.
but I am trying to get some of my speed back… Right after the marathon I was taking it slow and easy, certainly not pushing the speed or intensity. So this month, I’m working on it.
4. LOSE WEIGHT
after my month of NOT running because of the damn achilles tendonitis
I put on a few pounds. I ate my emotions and stress because I couldn’t run them off.
I’ve been a less-than-stellar WW member during Sept and Oct, but this month, I’ve been a freaking SUPERSTAR. tracking everything! EVERYTHING. even the caramel apple cheesecake bars. (17 points, holy shit!). So I’m hoping to get my ass in gear and lose those few pounds I gained in Sept and maybe even lose a few more since I’m CrossFit-ting my guts out.
and on a non-fitness, weight loss tangent…
5. be more THANKFUL
I’m going to try to focus on all the positive things going on in my life rather than dwell on the negative crap. I need to be thankful for everything that I have and surround myself with positive people who love me for me (and all my crazy quirks- HA!). I’m so lucky that I have such a supportive hubby and family who are ALWAYS there for me and push me to be a better person & athlete. 🙂
has anyone else made some new goals?
what are you THANKFUL for?
14 thoughts on “some new goals…

  1. Ann says:

    I’m thankful to have wonderful friends (like you, bestie!) who keep me in check and encourage me – even with tough love – when I need it most! I promise to do the same and encourage and support you for THESE goals!! They are awesome and you are doing great! Love reading your progress and like I said before – I can’t wait to see when your muscles are RIPPED! Plus, I guarantee cross-fit is making you a stronger runner. Get ’em, girl. You = rock.

    Like

  2. Sabrina says:

    I have a friend doing cross fit and I am just a little scared to join her. I keep saying as soon as I lose some weight. My current goal is to lose weight and so I am thankful for the mystery person who ate my cupcake my yesterday.

    Like

  3. Carrie says:

    I just got a bodybugg for an early Christmas present and so I’ve had to revamp my goals. I amsadmto be quitting WW, but it’s time for something new! Sounds like you are setting yourself up for success! I love hearing your crossfit stories!

    Like

  4. Becky says:

    Jason is doing crossfit right now and it is kicking hit butt. Those welts you are sporting look PAINFUL! Way to keep punishing yourself and continue through it anyway! You WILL be ripped. We went to a movie with all of Jason’s Crossfit crew and every.single.one was 100% completely ripped. Talk about intimidating! You’re going to be that way so very soon…

    Like

  5. Lily says:

    I love your goals, I have pretty much the same ones. You’re strong, you can do it! If in a few months you want a little help on getting your running speed back +some, I can give some advice that will increase your speed. 🙂

    Like

  6. Rachelle Wardle says:

    Such a great post. These are some awesome goals and I know that you will conquer each of them because you are very determined. I am feeling so blessed and so thankful this month. I am thankful for the support of the blogging community, great friends I have made through running, and my always supportive family. Love you friend!

    Like

  7. Julia says:

    LOVE these goals! good luck sweet friend! i am totally pulling for you. and i LOVE how much you are loving CrossFit! I would be scared out of my mind to try something new so you are my hero for sure! you are going to be so freaking strong and amazing come spring. wow! i am a tiny bit nervous about the crystal light verdict. eeeeek. not sure what i would do without it. i agree. plain water = boring. i am thankful for my BROTHER today. he is seriously so awesome. we have been skyping so much lately and i miss him like crazy!

    Like

  8. tenaciouslyyours.com says:

    I feel like shedding the marathon/recovery weight is in the air! I completely know how you feel. I had to draw my own line in the sand because I realized that I didn’t want to run out of time to get it done before I start training again! I gave up DC about two years ago. When I had (and still have!) the urge to break-up my water drinking, I started drinking tea. Initially it was extremely boring and dull. But it has grown on me. Plus it distracts me from boredom hunger.Good luck kicking the habit and keep us posted!

    Like

  9. kara t. says:

    I just told my roommate that you might be my other soul mate(other than her of course)… I can’t jump rope either! I actually bought one at Target so that I could practice at home and not be so embarrassed in class. Anyhow, I am glad that you are loving it!! I knew that you would. You are going to turn into a bad ass runner with all of that core and upper body stuff you’re doing. I promise.Also, make sure to take some measurements, and maybe even some pictures. Sometimes with crossfit you lose fat but not weight and that can be discouraging. And I can tell you more about it but the boo I am reading is this guy who bases everything on experiment and he claims that fat loss isn’t affected by drinking 16 ounces or less or diet soda/crystal light, etc. Maybe that would be a good goal? And random, but true, a bunch of us salon girls used to drink Crystal Light and it made all of our boobs hurt!

    Like

  10. Candice @ I Have Run says:

    Other than the crossfit one, I have all the same goals as you. I made it one day sober this week. That was yesterday No soda on the weekend is SOOOOO hard!And maybe you’ll have to keep me accountable on the weight loss because I suck at it, but I have the same problem with the extra pounds because of my hip injury. So keep posting things like this so I stay motivated =)

    Like

  11. Amylee says:

    Okay. If you can get your butt to the gym 5 TIMES A WEEK (you rockstar!) then I can do strength training twice. I’m so lazy. What’s the deal?Thankful for: family, home, jobs, the Lord, friends, and ButterfingersPS- I’m glad I’m not the only one that is struggling with the blogging thing lately.

    Like

  12. Jen says:

    I can not believe those welts on your arms from jumping rope! CRAZY! You are such an inspiration to me. Crossfit sounds like a whole lot of fun and really hard! I like your other goals. I’m like you, I live on Crystal Light and other types of flavored water. Please don’t tell me if you find out it’s bad too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

