Tinkerbell Half Marathon RECAP

Best. Race. EVER.
Honestly.
I wish every race could be as FUN as the Tinkerbell Half Marathon.
My Mom and I woke up super early Sunday morning to get ready.
Had our Team Sparkle skirts and wings on (and looked fabulous)!
(if you want to wear wings in a race be sure to check out Kelly‘s post on how to wear wings while running.)
We walked over to the race start (thankfully our hotel wasn’t too far away) and we dropped our bags and headed to our corral.
and guess who I spotted (or stalked…)
yup… my blog dreams have been fulfilled. I met Skinny Runner and got a picture with her!
she even put my a pic of my Mom and I on her blog.
okay…
so she thinks my name is Liz.
but who cares?! Skinny Runner put MY picture (and linked to my blog) on her blog.
and she took this amazing picture of us! πŸ™‚
anyways… back to the race.
it was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!
since we were in corral A the start was super smooth. No running over walkers, trying to dodge runners, etc.
look at all those runners! 12,000 total runners! CRAZY!
The first 4 miles were in Disneyland and they FLEW by.
We were having SO much fun, I forgot we were running a half marathon.
They had Disneyland workers everywhere! They were cheering, high fiving, all around… AMAZING.
blurry… that’s my Momma on the right!
ο»Ώ
Our first picture was with the Caballeros!
running down main street.
(forgive my blurry running photos – I did the best I could!)
I can’t even tell you how cool it was to be running down Main Street towards the castle. It was so magical! It was still a little dark and everything was lit up. AMAZING.
Then we ran through the castle.
I was just a little excited! πŸ™‚
Momma running in the castle!
met Jack Sparrow
my Mom BEELINED for him as soon as she spotted him! πŸ˜‰
Once we exited the park, we ran through “scenic” Anaheim.
uhh… well, it wasn’t scenic in my opinion, but the crowd support, volunteers, and cheer squads were AWESOME. My Mom and I made sure to high five everyone. πŸ™‚
thanks to Team Sparkle for this photo!
We made it back into Downtown Disney and then into California Adventure.
Once again, the crowds were amazing. I cannot tell you enough how much I enjoyed this race.
I was having SO much fun.
Met Mike Sully and the orange monster guy (?)
Josh, Diz and my Daddy were there about a mile from the finish line cheering for us!
No pics – Josh will email me later!
Woody, Jessie, green Army guy, and Buzz!!
this was right at the end, you can almost see the Luna chutes in the background.
Once we got to the chutes, we took off.
We crossed the finish line together, arms in the air!Β 
I can’t wait to check out our ‘official’ race photos!
there were photographers EVERYWHERE in the park!
Team Sparkle was there at the finish area taking photos.
and I finally got a photo with Kelly!
eeeek! Another blog stalking moment!
(I’ll explain in my other Disneyland post)
My Momma and I hung out for awhile at the finish line area, soaking it all in, checking out all the other runner’s costumes. And I ate a few Clif kid’s fruit snacky things
We were both grinning from ear to ear and talking about how we couldn’t wait to run another Disney race.
I may have brought up the possibili
ty of doing the Princess Half and Tinkerbell next year so we could get a Coast to Coast medal.
I LOVED this race. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this race!
I wish the whole 13.1 miles was inside the parks. It was by far the funnest, coolest, best-est, most AMAZING race I have ever ran.
I don’t know if it was the wings… or the sparkly skirt… or if it was because my Mom and I had agreed early on that we were NOT racing this race. We were purely running for fun, enjoying the magical Disney atmosphere, and having a fantastic time doing it.
And even though we weren’t concerned with pace, we did pretty darn well, considering all our photo stops and taking 1 potty stop, and came in at 2 hours and 1 minute. Our garmin’s measured the course a littleΒ long. I got 13.38 miles. so our average pace was 9:03. Not too shabby!
I’ve decided that the best way to run a race is in a sparkly skirt and some wings! and to have fun!
I’ve been sort of dreading Ogden Marathon and not looking forward to training. but now… I’m kind of ready for it. I want to approach Ogden like we did Tinkerbell. Just HAVE fun. I hardly checked my garmin during Tinkerbell. It was AMAZING to not be stressed out about pace or splits or PR-ing. I really think that if I can keep that mindset at Ogden I should be able to get my sub 4:00.
and I’m probably going to need a few more sparkle skirts.
maybe in pink. or turquoise.
I wonder if Team Sparkle wants to sponsor me? πŸ˜‰
p.s. check out MY BLING!
most definitely my coolest race medal ever!
*Have you ever done a Disney race? Done the Coast to Coast challenge?*
*Want to run the Tinkerbell Half Marathon with my Momma and I next year?*
and… have you entered my Sparkly Soul Giveaway yet? You have another 24 hours!!
30 thoughts on “Tinkerbell Half Marathon RECAP

  1. Lizzie says:

    Hey girl! Congrats on your Tinkerbell Half! I just found your blog today and saw that you ran Utah Valley last year.. any plans to do it again this year?! I just registered yesterday =)

    Like

  2. Jana says:

    I also loved this race! I started in Corral C, so I had to weave in and out of walkers and run/walkers for the first 5 miles or so. Otherwise it was great. My Garmin also showed that I ran almost 13.5 miles. I thought it was just from all the weaving.

    Like

  3. Rachelle Wardle says:

    Seriously my favorite blog post I have ever read. This is why we run, this is what running it all about, and you totally captured why I LOVE running in this post. You and your Mom Look amazing. love, love, love the costumes and I am so glad you had so much fun!!I must admit I about died when I saw how fast you ran considering all of the pictures and stops. Running is so much easier when you are having fun. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Amylee says:

    I love that you got to do this with your Mom. What a cool experience. There is no way I would race in a race like this!!!! There is too much fun going on. I laughed when SR got your name wrong :). Oh well, who cares?! You are about the cutest thing I have ever seen. And I’m with you on Ogden- FUN it is !

    Like

  5. Jamie says:

    You guys looked great!! I ran in Team Sparkle skirt and wings too. I started way too far back in Coral B so I had to do a lot of weaving in the beginning (ran with someone else’s bib and therefore coral qualifying time), but ohmygosh this race was so much fun. Now, next year I’m dreaming of a Coast to Coast medal. If only, I could get the husband to agree I need to go to both Disneyland AND Disney World for races in a calendar year πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Stephanie says:

    Oh man I HAVE to do a Disney race! I LOVE that place and have been there waaaaay too many times to count but reading your race recap was awesome and I need to do it. You and your mama are so cute, I love the matching outfits! I love that you stopped for pictures and just had fun, I think that is the way to run that kind of race. You paid a lot, you may as well get your $$ worth!! Great job!!

    Like

  7. BikramYoginiRunner says:

    How cool! I hope one day my daughter and I will be running side by side. BTW, I saw you both at the starting line. I was next to Skinny Runner but I didn’t recognize her at first. Cute pics! Gotta love Disney races

    Like

  8. Sara says:

    I just ran in the Goofy Challenge in Orlando and fell in LOVE with runDisney! Best. Race. Ever. Definitely check out the other Disney races – THEY ARE ALL AMAZING!!!I loved this recap and your pictures! I felt like I was right there with you – I had fun just reading it. You guys looked fantastic!!

    Like

  9. Jessica says:

    I love your outfits! How did you get your hands through the socks you were wearing on your arms?? I’m running the Tinkerbell this weekend & purchased socks as arm Warmers too!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      Hey Jessica – all you have to do is cut the heel out of the socks. It’s easy! πŸ™‚

      My Mom and I are running Tink again this year. Maybe we’ll see you there! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • jessica says:

        That sounds simple! Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

        My friend & I are running our 1st half! We figured the Tinkerbell would be a good place to start!!

        How do you think the temp looks? Comparable to last year?? Seems kinda chilly for LA!

        Good luck & have fun!! πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

