Whole Life Challenge @ Elevated CrossFit

at Elevated CrossFit we are starting the Whole Life Challenge on Sept 15.

Whole Life Challenge

It’s basically an 8 week long challenge where we will focus on changing lifestyle habits – aka clean eating diet and exercise every day. The purpose of the Whole Life Challenge is to see how much we can improve on the baseline WOD, how many inches we can lose (let’s hope it’s a lot!), and how consistent we can be for the 8 weeks in maintaining healthy habits. We are required to log in daily to the Whole Life Challenge Scoreboard.

We are scored on 3 things:

  1. Body Measurements – biceps, waist, hips, & thighs
  2. Improvement on the baseline WOD
  3. Using the Whole Life Challenge Scoreboard. Each day we’ll be able to earn 6 points (3 for nutrition, 1 for working out, 1 for stretching, and 1 for taking fish oil).

Not gonna lie – this is strict – they mean business.

But I kinda like it. As you know, I’ve tried Paleo before – and failed. Remember my Paleo Fail-eo post?!

This time around I’m going 100%. I really want to see how my body reacts to the positive changes I’ll be making. I’ve been reading It Starts With Food from Dallas & Melissa Hartwig from Whole9. And I’ve FREAKING loved it. I don’t know why this book has spoke to me more than the other books I’ve read. But it apparently speaks my language. (I’ll write another post on all the things I’ve learned – well not everything, but my favorite points)

I’ve started to cut out some foods already – like equal (the sugar substitute) and most dairy, just so it won’t be SUCH a shock to my system on Sept 15th. Luckily – Dizzle WANTED to sign up for the challenge and (AND!!) he’s going to start coming to CrossFit! When he told me he wanted to sign up for the challenge – he tells me “Well, wouldn’t it be easier for you if all the crap food was out of the house?” – umm YES. HELL yes it will be easier. So I’ve been prepping the pantry and fridge – cleaning out most of the crap and we’ve been eating through the other stuff (like milk, cheese, & cereal (Diz has been)) and we’ve been stocking up on Whole Life Challenge essentials – coconut oil, canned tuna, fruits and veggies. BUT – the one thing I’m going to miss is my coveted Peppermint Mocha Creamer. I may just have to go coffee free for the challenge. I don’t know if I can drink black coffee. :/

WLC

If you are interested in joining in on the Whole Life Challenge – feel free to check out their ABOUT page and then sign up under Elevated CrossFit (under the affiliate tab). You can sign up until September 8th. Tyson has agreed to do 10 burpees for every person that signs up. So far he has 120 to do… We’d love to get that number to 200, or even 300!!

Is anyone else doing the Whole Life Challenge? Or participated in a similar event?

Want to sign up but have questions? Leave a comment and I’ll try to answer as best I can!

34 thoughts on “Whole Life Challenge @ Elevated CrossFit

    • Ashley says:

      Thanks girl! and YES – it is intense. Whole9 has said that if you can do their 30 day challenge (or like me and the Whole Life Challenge) and be 100% strict – that is when you see the results. You break the processed carb food cravings, you heal your gut, and overall – feel so much better. 🙂

      Like

  1. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness says:

    Good luck! I’ve done a couple strict Paleo challenges and they have all worked really well for me! My body just runs better on Paleo foods! I’m excited to hear more about your journey! The Whole9 website has a lot of great resources on it as well! I’m dying to get It Starts with Food thought too!

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      Danielle – You have to get It Starts With Food. I’ve read Robb Wolf’s book and started the Primal book too, and neither of them even come close to ISWF. I don’t know why – but it just spoke my language. If I had all the money in the world I’d buy EVERYONE a copy of this book. And I love that you’ve had sucess with your Paleo Challenges.

      Like

  2. Ann says:

    LOVE that you are doing this. Can’t wait to compare notes and talk about recipes, etc. I made this squash-carrot soup last night. AMAZING. Let’s talk soon! 🙂

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      oooh… that soup sounds amazing. I haven’t read the recipe section yet. Diz is gonna get bored with chicken/steak/fish and boat loads of veggies. So, we’re gonna have to get creative! 😉

      Like

  3. Megan D says:

    You got this! I am so impressed. I also think it is crazy that 3 pts comes from your nutrition, Just goes to show that what you put into your mouth plays a much bigger role in your body than just working out. Which is why I should do something like this. lol. Instead, I will just remind you that you have 11 days to get all the Yogurtland in that you can 😉 Good luck!

    Like

  4. Christine @ Love, Life, Surf says:

    This sounds like an intense challenge but also really really good! I’ve been super curious about Paleo and thinking a bit about how to clean up my diet. Hardest for me would be to give up dairy. I think that I have to check out Whole9 and It Starts with Food. Good luck!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      I definitely suggest reading It Starts With Food if you are interested in trying Paleo/clean eating. It explained things in a way that made sense to me and not just telling me to eat “this” way because “I said so”. And dairy… I will miss cottage cheese and milk. boo-hiss.

      Like

    • Ashley says:

      I’m kind of (well… a lot) competitive and I thrive when I have a lot of people around me are doing the same thing. I think my whole gym will do well since we will have each other for support (and friendly competition!). Thanks girl!

      Like

    • Ashley says:

      OMG… i know. I’m going to go through Peppermint Mocha withdrawals. My CF coach swears that black coffee is good… but I don’t trust him.

      Like

    • Ashley says:

      It took me almost a year of doing CrossFit and being surrounded by people who eat Paleo/”clean eating” before I had enough motivation to try to it. 😉 You should definitely try it after your half.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Diz does CrossFit
  6. Jessica says:

    We just started a Way of Life challenge at our CrossFit435 box and I have signed up for the 2nd time! Not bragging (well kind of) but I won the first challenge for the ladies and I am so excited to do it again. I loved how I felt eating so clean, getting enough sleep and working out consistently. I am almost through reading “It Starts With Food” and wished I would of had this book during the first challenge, maybe the habits would have stuck around a little more. Knowledge is power that is for sure. and so are the before pictures I took this afternoon, they are giving me the motivation to do my best during this challenge and for the rest of my life…I want my body to reflect all the work I put into working out you know! I am also running the St. George Marathon and hope all this healthy living gets me across that finish line faster then last year!
    Well sorry for the novel but Good Luck with your challenge and I can’t wait to see how you do!

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      I love novel length comments Jess! And you should definitely BRAG! That’s amazing. I hope I win our challenge! And isn’t the book amazing??

      My Mom and bro are going to be running STG this year ( i think, they’re trying to get bibs through a good friend w/ connections). I’ll have to look for you!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

