Whole Life Challenge WEEK 1 UPDATE

What’s up guys?! Just checking in after week 1 of the WholeLifeChallenge. It’s actually been pretty good. No major complaints from me – minus the non-existent coffee creamer. Check out the video for my info on how I did during week 1.

and hey… I’m wearing makeup and did my hair for you guys. Be impressed, mmmkay?

 

Diz has been doing great as well. I think he’s been struggling more with cravings.
Last night he begged to go to the grocery store and get a root beer float. (they were advertising a $1 deal)
I told him he could go, but I wasn’t going to cheat.
So he fell asleep on the couch instead. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We’ve had some great workouts this week.
I’ve spent the last 2 weeks with a slight back injury. But this week I’m finally feeling better and I have been KILLING it at Elevated CrossFit!
(well… I think I have been.)

On Wednesday – we did the Bear Complex (5 x 5)
I’ve never done it before so I was excited to try.
I always ask Tyson for a little guidance, so I know where to start and where to push too.
I started at 65lbs and finished my last set at 105lbs!!
I wish I had video or picture proof, but I forgot my camera card in my laptop!
But it was GREAT. I was smiling from ear to ear when I was done!
and had great guidance from Tyson and Van (our Strongman Coach).

Then, last night – we worked on 1RM (1 rep max) Snatch and Cleans.

Wanna check out my snatch? (Bahaha – I love CrossFit humor)

The Snatch is such a technical lift and has ALWAYS felt awkward to me, so I asked Tyson for some pointers and he decided to film and show me. And he said my form was the best it’s been, but I still need to work on getting my bum lower and my shoulders DIRECTLY over the bar. I ended up getting to 95lbs and then dropped down again and worked more on form. It’s getting there! WOO WOO!

Then I was able to get a 10lb PR on my clean. I WAS SO STOKED! I’d been dying to do cleans forever. The last time we did them I was so sick that day that I had to miss class. So last night was a great night. THIS GIRL had a HUGE smile on her face all night. I LOVE feeling strong. I freakin’ LOVE it.

so yeah… that’s my week 1 update.
any questions about the Whole Life Challenge? (or any other CrossFit jokes? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Holla at me in the comments!

20 thoughts on “Whole Life Challenge WEEK 1 UPDATE

  1. Stefanie says:

    You look so strong in your video! Isn’t nice having the support of the hub? We’ve had some instances when I’ve had a craving and he tells me I can eat what I want, but he isn’t. I usually end up not caving. It’s nice!

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      Thanks Stef! It’s been SO much easier have Diz’s support. And I’m thrilled he is doing the challenge as well. He’s doing so well! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Courtney says:

    Way to get it girl! The snatch is a complicated movement! I’ve only been able to land 110, 95 is impressive! I think your form is great, now all you have to work on is speed, and you’ll be competing alongside Annie T in no time!

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      Thanks for your support girl! I love your blog (i’m totally stalking you now – in a non-weird way, I promise). I’d die if I ever got to compete with Annie T! Reading your blog… it looks like you might be competing before me! #GetAfterIt girl!

      Like

  3. Megan D says:

    Not sure if I am most impressed by the 6# loss, all those awesome prs or that you haven’t had many sugar cravings (I need help in that department…BADLY!) Either way, way to go! You are rocking it. I can’t even imagine all that you will accomplish in 30 days!

    Like

  4. Abby @ BackAtSquareZero says:

    Your hair and make up are gorgeous! All my vlogs are my dirty, sweaty, nasty self post run or such. You look fabulous!
    Great snatch! (Wow, that sounds dirty!) Seeing how string crossfit can make you is what is really pushing me to go back and try again.

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      thanks Abby! my first vlog was sans makeup and shower – so I thought I should do one pretty vlog. lol.
      You should definitely give CrossFit another try!

      Like

  5. Ann says:

    Love, love, LOVE the vlog! You and Sundance are doing GREAT! So proud of you. Seriously. And your hair + makeup is GORG. I love. I am ALSO missing coffee creamer (like woah!) and can’t wait to keep on with the challenge. We’ll chat soon. I don’t know what I’m supposed to be looking for on the video…. but it looks good to me? LOL. You = beast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

