Whole Life Challenge – Week 4 Update

How are we already HALFWAY through this challenge?

Finally tried coconut milk in my coffee and it’s NOTHING like my beloved Peppermint Mocha – but it takes away the bitterness of the black coffee. It makes my coffee a little more enjoyable in the morning. So it’s staying.

Still frustrated my weight didn’t drop like I thought it would. I’ve had a few people at the gym tell me that I look smaller and I sometimes think my face looks slimmer. But it’s the obsession with the number on the scale that has me all flustered. I know I told myself in the beginning that I was trying to get away from the scale – but I thought with cutting out all dairy, gluten and sugar that the weight would come off quicker. We still have 4 weeks left to go and I’d still like to lose another 10 lbs or so.

I’ve cut down on my fruit consumption this week – and increased my veggie intake. I sometimes think I’m replacing my processed-carbs with fruit-carbs and that’s not really going to help solve my sugar addiction. When I was doing Weight Watchers and trying to figure out my hunger cues – I’d ask myself if I was hungry enough to eat an apple, if I didn’t want to eat an apple – I wasn’t really hungry. NOW – I’m asking myself – Would you cook eggs and broccoli right now? Because the answer would be YES (always YES) to an apple. Β Or I ask myself are you hungry enough to COOK a meal? Usually – the answer is “no”. I’m usually bored, or exhausted – and trying to stay awake by eating.

My sleep patterns are definitely improving. Last week’s challenge was to to get 7 hours of uninterrupted sleep each night. I usually try to get into bed around 10pm (sometimes even earlier!) and read a little bit – but oftentimes I can’t even read a complete chapter before I start nodding off. I’m waking up between 4:30-5:30 every morning and feel pretty rested. I don’t always get active RIGHT away – but I’ll get up and do some blog reading or some laundry and then head out for my workout.

Speaking of workouts – this week has been good. I finally have a good schedule. I’m going to CrossFit Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, (rest day on Thursday) Friday (I try to get to the Strength class and do the scheduled WOD after) and Saturday. I’m also trying to run 3-4 days a week, with a mileage goal of 15-20 miles. Not trying to hit a certain pace – but just get back into ENJOYING running and getting Olivia out there with me too. I’ve found that taking Thursdays off from CrossFit has been very beneficial. I’m not completely wiped out by the end of the week and I look forward to getting back to the gym on Fridays.

I feel like I should be ashamed for buying this many eggs. (that’s a 5 dozen flat of eggs from Costco – who want’s an omelette?)

But I’m not. Diz and I like eggs. (okay, we love eggs) I may have to follow Jess (BlondePonytail) and make a breakfast egg casserole with all the veggies in our fridge.

My office administrator is awesome. He gave us two 5-gallon buckets full of tomatoes, cucumbers, green peppers, a spaghetti squash and a HUGE summer squash to split among the 2 other girls in my office. It’s been awesome. Nothing tastes better than fresh garden veggies. We pay him with bags of Ford’s Jerky. It’s an even trade.

The plan for next week is to keep going with the ‘more veggies/less fruit’ plan, keep up with my workout schedule, and to keep up with Week 5’s Challenge “Brown Bag It” (aka NO eating out next week – gotta prep/eat everything from home).

How’s everyone else doing on the Whole Life Challenge?
Is anyone else seeing a plateau with weight loss? Any other tips for me?

8 thoughts on “Whole Life Challenge – Week 4 Update

  1. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    Sounds like you’re doing good, awesome PRs! I don’t know what your diet as a whole is like but if you’ve plateaued with weight loss have you experimented with very low carb or ketosis? If you can get your body very well fat-adapted that might be the change you need.

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      I haven’t experimented with either of those. But that’s what I’m trying to do – become fat-adapted (and get rid of my muffin top that’s still hanging around! lol). Thanks for the tips!

      Like

  2. Lily says:

    Going ketogenic works. It’s hard for about 4 days, then you feel better as your body adapts to burning primarily fat. Also, (hope you don’t mind my advice) eating no carbs after lunch is a good tip to follow, since the body doesnt make enough insulin later in the day to burn up carb consumption. My neighbor does crossfit and went palei, but didn’t lose anything. I suspect its because she was eating mass sweet potatoes (still a carb) for dinner in the evening. Tried to explain it, but she didn’t seem to believe me. Lol

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      I’m definitely looking into the ketosis stuff. And I’m definitely watching the carbs. And I’m a sucker for sweet potatoes. (They’re SO good!)

      Thanks for your support girlie! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Megan D says:

    I was just thinking your face fave has gotten thinner.as well.

    Don’t let the scale play with your head. I will feel like rock star sometimes cause my pants are fitting better &my stomach feels flatter &then I get so discouraged when the scale doesn’t reflect that as well. Unless you feel like you haven’t changed, then making modifications makes sense. But you are doing great! You are working out like a machine. I am going to hold you to our future crossfit date…whenever that may be..

    Like

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Save some cute for the rest of us girl!! πŸ™‚
    Way to go on the awesome PR’s! That’s fantastic!
    That is so funny about the eggs. I don’t like eggs unless they are diguised with veggies in an omelette or casserole, so this week when I ate an entire dozen by myself, I pretty much freaked out and I feel like I’ve officially crossed over to the dark side. lol

    Like

  5. Alan Perkes says:

    I love you girl. You’re a beast. I won’t comment on the evil s c a l e. You know what i think. You’re fast your strong…your good to go. See ya tomorrow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

