St George Redemption Run

To complete our fantastic St. George weekend
my Momma and I ran 16 miles along the St. George Marathon course.
My super duper, so sweet, fantastic hubby, woke up early to drive us up the canyon.
We literally drove 16 miles from our hotel and jumped out of the car.
It was a little spooky, semi-deserted, and freakin’ cold!
But oh-so-gorgeous.
I hate to admit this, but I’ve never really appreciated (or paid attention to) the scenery of the St. George Marathon course the last 3 times I ran it.
It was so AMAZING to run this and enjoy the course.
(it helps that we got to skip over Veyo! ha)
My Mom and I stopped about 4 miles into our run to take quick pics.

When we got to about mile 9, I told my Momma…
“can we just stop for a second? I just want to put my arms down!”
My arms, especially my left bicep, were SO sore from shooting the day before.
Sounds silly, I know. But shotguns are heavy!
Another great thing about our run is that we saw a hot air balloon.
sounds weird, right?
Well… anytime we see a plane or hot air balloon on our runs we know that my Grandma and Brad are watching over us from heaven. πŸ™‚
I averaged an 8:44 min pace for the run.
which is pretty amazing for me. My long runs have been feeling a lil blah lately.
so from now on… I want to run all my longs in St George. πŸ˜‰
I realized a few things about the St George course.
1. that bitch is DOWNHILL. Last year I complained about all the hills.
but hot damn. All the downhill is KILLER.
I’m still sore.
2. I really like not having to run Veyo.
3. It really is a pretty course.
4. It’s DOWN hill.
5. I realized that there are houses and churches all along the course.
seriously… never noticed them before.
I really thought the only town was Veyo.
I suppose while I’m racing I just get ‘in the zone’ and only focus on the road ahead.
6. I think I like running “for fun” than “racing”.
I hope this changes by Ogden. I still want my sub 4:00.
Anyone ever go back to a race course to “redeem” themselves?
As much as I enjoyed my last St George marathon, it was nice to be able to run the last part of that at a speedy pace. Proved to myself that I am capable of running sub 9min miles.
Anyone planning on running St George this year?
As of right now… I’m not. I think my Momma might be signing up through the runners series. If she runs it, I’ll be the best cheerleader she’s EVER had. πŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “St George Redemption Run

  1. Christie says:

    we were in st george last weekend too and driving the marathon course I kept saying… where did all of these houses come from! haha… Glad you had a good run and a fun trip πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Kelly says:

    Love the photos! Looking forward to coming out that way someday to take photos.I am running a redemption race in October. Last October, I missed the half-marathon turnaround in the Maine Half-Marathon. Up to the turnaround, I was on pace to do a 2:45 half, which would have been a 18 minute improvement over the prior HM. I missed the turnaround, went a mile up the marathon course, realized I missed the turnaround, and lost all motivation. I ended up walking most of the rest of the course and finished 14.9 miles in 3:35.I’m already signed up to go back to the Maine Half-Marathon this year and rock it! πŸ™‚ Hopefully with less pouring rain than we had last year!

    Like

  3. Rachelle Wardle says:

    Loved reading this and the pictures. I am totally with you on SGM…..don’t remember a dam thing after Veyo. ha!I would love to race it again but I don’t think it is in the cards for this year. I do think I will go down and support though so we can cheer together k. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Monica says:

    Last year we did about a 65 mile bike ride that dropped us into Veyo and then followed the rest of the marathon route. I couldn’t believe how much more enjoyable Veyo was on a bike and of course, the downhills were amazing.We are planning to run St. George this year. I will be about 5 months post baby so I will definitely be slow.

    Like

  5. emlizalmo says:

    So glad you had an awesome run! Funny, I was just down in St. George a few weeks ago with 2 girlfriends (one is my running buddy) and after taking some time off/crosstraining bc of a sore leg, we decided just to GO FOR IT. Our friend drove us up into the canyon and we ran 10 miles back into town to our hotel. Possibly the best/happiest run of my life! I loved the scenery, the rolling hills, all of it. We’ve talked about going down once a month for long runs. πŸ™‚ Hey, maybe we’ll see you there. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment